Quotes from “Second Helpings”

by Megan McCafferty.

the sequel to this.

  • I never liked having to win, and was grateful for an excuse to suck.
  • Being Busy = Avoiding My Issues.
  • ‘If you can’t annoy somebody, there’s little point in writing,’ Kingsley Amis.
  • I swear, I would thrive in a communist regime. See, when I have too many choices, it’s my own fault if I make the wrong one. I am much better when decisions have been made for me. It not only gives me the right to complain, but a sense that I’ve had to overcome overwhelming odds in the struggle to become the success that I am.
    (stupid American attitude!!)
  • I try not to address my desires. If I deny, deny, deny, then I have no reason to be disappointed when I don’t get it. Right.
  • I never look forward to anything. […] Because whenever I look forward to anything, it ends up sucking. The buildup inevitably leads to a letdown. It’s safer to lowball my way through life.
  • I always saw religion as a kind of a crutch, something people used to make themselves feel better about their own mortality. I don’t blame anyone for doing this — in fact, I wish I were able to buy into it all. But I can’t. I wish I believed in the afterlife. […] But I don’t believe that. I don’t believe in anything. I believe that when you’re dead, you’re dead.
  • No one ever really gets to know anyone in this world. It’s a collective delusion that makes love (or lust, for that matter) possible.
  • Ever notice how people wait until they’re not going to see you anymore to say something nice to you?

2 Responses to Quotes from “Second Helpings”

  1. […] to Second Helpings, sequel to Sloppy […]

  2. […] to Charmed Thirds, sequel to Second Helpings, sequel to Sloppy […]

