There’s Not Enough Anger

There is not enough anger in this world. You got me right: we need more anger. Let me guess: stop the war!, end all violence!, put an end to human suffering! My message may seem to be in conflict with those above, that’s for you to decide. Let me explain.

Nature has a (manageably small) number of forces that make us act as we do. Among these are love, fear, despair, revenge. One upon which you have better control is the force of anger. True, you might not be able to get rid of anger when you want to (although you could learn this), but you can always call it to your aid when you need it. Why would you want to do this? Of course you could choose to enter any other powerful state, but anger is one of the easiest to invoke. Here are just a few examples in which anger may be a solution:

  • You want to get your lazy ass off that chair and exercise some. A relaxed state doesn’t work well for that. Put some Rammstein on! Yell in your mind along with the singers! You’ll see how well this works.
  • You want to move something that is heavy, a bookcase or something. Thinking “please my sweet bookcase, let me move you” won’t do a thing! Get angry with it and you’ll find that it obeys your force!

Now let the stones be thrown.

PS. Not really on topic, but I think you’ll find this interesting.

5 Responses to There’s Not Enough Anger

  1. Alex Railean says:

    Anger definitely has its place in our toolkit, but I would try not to lean too much towards the dark side, remember Yoda’s words.

    My story about anger is that sometimes it is the only tool which can counter someone else’s actions against you. I was once walking in my neighborhood with two friends (a guy and a girl), there were a lot of people on the sidewalk, and I slightly touched a guy who was walking in the opposite direction. After walking ~30m, he ran back to us and stopped me, he was not alone.

    He said that I pushed him on purpose and didn’t even stop to apologize. I began to explain that such collisions happen when there is little space and a lot of people. But he went on, saying “you must do something to compensate the fact that you insulted me”. My initial reaction was a derivative of a logical “wtf?”. Logical, because I didn’t get to say anything, I only started thinking about it; at that moment my friend told him to fuck off (in plain text, in Russian). The thug’s reaction was another logical wtf?, before he managed to say anything, my friend went on with “yeah, I’m telling you to fuck off!”.

    My reaction was a “mimical wtf?” (i.e. I didn’t say anything, but my face changed accordingly). The problem was that this bad guy had a huge scar on his eye, and one of his eyes was read; the other one was a skinhead; I immediately pictured that it was very likely that that day I was not going to get home with my physical integrity at 100%.

    They did back off after that, but believe me, from that point none of us could calm down, we were looking in all directions (the idea was that they backed off because there were people around). Fucking assholes…

    Back to your point; anger works, but think about it in a different way – anger is a “high level” trick you use to “cheat” yourself and cause a “low-level” change that will result in your doing the desired action. Now… if only you could connect to your brain with a debugger and simply flip that bit directly… wouldn’t that be 10x cooler? (-:

    I’ve explained it to several people by email, and I guess it’s time to express this idea in a formal way and make it public so I guess I’ll write about it soon. It’s not focused on anger or !anger, the concept is in viewing ourselves as a software system running on top of the hardware (body, chemicals, etc). If it is software (i.e. logical layer), then there must always be an easier way to change the state of a variable, besides the standard “getters and setters” described in the guide that accompanies the API (-:

  2. Alex Railean says:

    ah.. i wrote “read” instead of “red” %-) that should have generated a “grammar nazi wtf?” :-)

  3. ilovemint says:

    You mean there’s a sort of positive anger and a negative anger, don’t you?

    Anger can be channled into a kind of force, you’re right there, but then we should ask ourselves what kind of inpiration works best for us – the anger inspired one, or another inspired by, say, a kind complement or something? We shouldn’t forget that anger has an edge of irrationality to itself…though I wonder if this holds true for righteous anger too? I mean, when you’re converting that anger into a positive force, it has an added element of…intensity, and you pursue your cause with ten times as much vociferousness.

    I think it varies every time, because on some occasions I cannot concentrate at all when I get angry in the least but on others when I’m listening to death metal it kind of generates a stream of ideas :-D

    Wonder if all the political leaders in the world would make a change after all if we can manage to get them sufficiently angry enough ;)

  4. Constantin says:

    Yes, anger is a force like the others, and it’s up to the user to decide how to use it. I think we shouldn’t discard it because we have been taught it is “BAD.”

    I don’t know whether it could help solve political problems though. It’s all just a bunch of lies behind smiling faces anyway.

    PS. Alex, notice the time stamp of your second comment ;)

  5. Carrie says:

    I stumbled upon your blog, and never have I read a more accurate description of anger. Get mad and get sh!t done!

    Let me tell you, as someone in a wheelchair, that the things I find difficult are much easier when I get frustrated and mad and determined to get them out of my way.

