Linux Tip: fsck Progress Indicator

Linux does a great job of checking the local file systems every once in a while to make sure there is no corruption. Unfortunately, this luxury does not extend to removable drives. It will give you a warning (file system unchecked for so many days), but will do nothing about it. That is why I recommend doing a manual check on your external drives from time to time.

If you run fsck with the default options, it will not display any indication of progress, and that can get annoying if you have a large drive and don’t know how much longer you’ll have to wait. But there is a simple solution to this, I only wish I had taken the time to read the man page earlier:

fsck -C /dev/sda5

that will display a nice progress indicator while scanning (works only for ext2/ext3).

4 Responses to Linux Tip: fsck Progress Indicator

  1. Interphero says:

    Thank you for this post. I am running fsck on a 2.8 TB partition, and I had no idea on how it was progressing.

  2. […] Progress Bar for md5sum et al. Tools that know they will take a long time often come with a built-in progress indicator, but there are other utilities on Linux that often leave the user frustratedly tapping their […]

  3. Mat says:

    This is brilliant, I was dying trying to fsck my 1.5Tb harddrive.

    Thanks!

  4. Glumbo says:

    Thanks a lot. This helped a lot with my fsck on 9TB

