Summary of 2007 and Resolutions for the Year to Come

story-of-my-life-flat.png

A hyperbolic representation of what I have (had) and what I want (expect). In 2007 I didn’t feel like I lived at all. Only four times this year did I feel my heart throb out of control. And in three of those moments I was alone. Ludicrous.

All of this surfaced to my consciousness during the past week. First there was the book. Then there were other things, which I’m not ready to put into words yet.

I loathe the feeling of time lost. I don’t want another year like this. I am sick of guarding my feelings, of being “fine just fine” and of “playing it safe.” I want:

  • a lot of sunshine;
  • a lot of laughter;
  • to remember loneliness as a thing of the past;
  • not to count the number of times I felt alive;
  • to read and listen to at least as many books as I did this year;
  • plus the down-to-earth things: finish school; get into my dream college; get more involved with KDE; etc.

I already learned that resolutions are rarely being kept, and that their real purpose is to measure how much one’s aspirations change over the years. It is unfair of me to give such an anti-appraisal, because 2007 had its nice moments, but this is just how I feel right now.

2 Responses to Summary of 2007 and Resolutions for the Year to Come

  1. Alex Railean says:

    I can help you with some of the items, if you agree to play a few football game with my friends. If you think football is too hi-tech, you can try badminton. And maybe, you can join me in my bike-quest. Either of these will definitely help you with the first two [to four] items.

    I’ve checked out your list for 2007, how are you with Inkscape? I’ve spent a lot of time with it, and I’m not looking back at Corel Draw anymore. The charts you post lately, they look like a product of Inkscape. I don’t know if you know, but there is a feature that can render a function you enter; this can save some time, as you won’t have to draw it manually (as long as you know which mathematical function will generate the curve you have in mind; for some people it’s problably easier to just draw it by hand :-)

    Overall, your prediction seems too pesimistic. Don’t you know that programmers are famous for being unreasonably optimistic? :-)

  2. Constantin says:

    I’ve never used Corel Draw. Inkscape, I’m just playing with it. I didn’t know there was a function plotter — the last two graphs have hand-made curves, which I think look better.

    I keep promising I will write about {opti,pessi}mism. Keyword maybe.

