Quotes from ‘Lolita’

Right, like I didn’t have enough controversial topics on my blog already.

The book is a sickly sweet read, with layers of meaning whose depths remain hidden, I think, even to the eyeglassed literary scholar. At first I was really annoyed by the many French phrases and subtle hints which I couldn’t understand. Only nearing the end did I became conscious of the Nabokov’s wordplay in almost every sentence. If not for anything else, the book deserves to be read for its sarcasm and covert criticism/analysis of society.

A list of quotes can reveal but little of such an unusual work. Those I selected are almost completely “off-topic.”

  • I still dwelled deep in my elected paradise, a paradise whose skies were the color of hell-flames, but still a paradise.
  • Nowadays you have to be a scientist if you want to be a killer.
  • Emphatically, no killers are we. Poets never kill.
  • …reducing the, meaningless to me, degrees Fahrenheit to the intimate centigrade of my childhood.
  • I am sufficiently proud of my knowing something to be modest about my not knowing all.
  • Solitude was corrupting me.
  • It was love at first sight, at last sight, at ever and ever sight.
  • She guessed it was too late to raise hell and I would never believe the unbelievably unbelievable.
  • What’s so dreadful about dying is that you are completely on your own.

That said, I hereby oblige myself to revisit this book when I am older, and look for more hidden meaning and amused snorts. Since I understood little of it, it would be unfair to give a recommendation. But I enjoyed the read overall.

I remember reading somewhere that Lolita has been dubbed ‘the only believable love story of the 20th century,’ but I can’t seem to find the link anymore. That’s how banned book turn into classics…

One Response to Quotes from ‘Lolita’

  1. 123 says:

    On the back cover of my book:

    “The only convincing love story of our century.” – Vanity Fair

