Quotes from ‘The Eye of the World’

I didn’t guess just how much I liked fantasy books until I read Robert Jordan‘s ‘The Eye of the World,’ the first volume of The Wheel of Time series. While confusing and a bit boring at first, because there were so many characters with strange names, the story quickly enraptured me. Some quotes:

  • A little more light in the darkness.
  • …shouting at the top of their lungs. Shouting to scare anything that might be waiting; shouting to remind themselves they were still alive.
  • If wishes were wings, sheep would fly.
  • …hope is like a piece of string when you’re drowning; it just isn’t enough to get you out by itself.
  • Sooner or later there’s always trouble when there’s two humans together.
  • Going to spend the rest of your life running, running and afraid of your own dreams.
  • Think, if you want to stay alive. Fear will kill you if you don’t control it.
  • We’ll die with the setting sun…
  • People don’t see what they don’t expect.
  • No eye can see the Pattern until it is woven.
  • Politics is a foggy mire full of snakes.
  • Try as you will – you cannot make stone live.
  • The Wheel weaves as the Wheel wills…

PS. Just as hilarious as it is off-topic

4 Responses to Quotes from ‘The Eye of the World’

  1. Jessica says:

    Great insperational quotes…….I was touched.

  2. Constantin says:

    Hey, did I convince you to read the book? ;)

  3. anplymoth says:

    Great book, and good quotes. I read it back in 95, and I still regard it as one of the best fantasy books out there. I liked the second book, The Great Hunt even more though.
    I am waiting for the last book.

  4. St Louis Personal Injury says:

    “…hope is like a piece of string when you’re drowning; it just isn’t enough to get you out by itself.”

    Great quote – I will have to check out these books and this author

