Announcing Konvert2Ogg 0.1

Konvert2Ogg is a KDE4 project I have started this month, and today is the big 0.1 day ;) It converts MP3s to Ogg Vorbis, effectively replacing the old command-line tool with a nice GUI.

Here’s the big shiny link:
http://konvert2ogg.sourceforge.net/

I’ve been pleasantly impressed with the service SourceForge offers open source projects for free: hosting, space for downloads, shell access and even svn!

2 Responses to Announcing Konvert2Ogg 0.1

  1. Alex says:

    WOW! I’m impressed.

    Even though I’m a Gnomer, and an mp3er (since I have multiple appliances that play mp3s, and cannot be updated to handle other formats), I think that it’s great that you’re creating a project and hosting it on Sourceforge.

    Pay attention to tags and the way you handle them, especially those that are not in Unicode – there are many codepages and you’ll need to make sure nothing gets screwed up in the process.

  2. Constantin says:

    Thanks for the insight, the app itself doesn’t support tags yet, but it will, soon enough.

