Back from Europe…

I’ve been to Iaşi in the last 2.5 days, at a programming contest. I’ve been to Romania before they entered the EU, and as a citizen of Moldova I must say things got worse for us. We didn’t need a visa to enter before, but now we need one. The embassy is overwhelmed with visa requests. Interviews are booked for 3 months ahead, I’ve heard. Apart from this, prices and taxes are higher, and people became even more arrogant towards the “non-European barbarians” that we are. One of the few good things I’ve noticed is that computer / electronics prices are lower than ours, and there is a lot more variety in this domain.

Now, what I’ve been most disgusted with. During our stay, our team has been housed (is this the right word for “cazare”?) together with three Romanian guys who listened to manele all the time. They are a disgrace to the music world. Show me a single person who is not an idiot and genuinely likes this genre!

4 Responses to Back from Europe…

  1. Alex says:

    Manele – definitely one of mankind’s worst ‘inventions’. I did not think that programmers could ever listen to that…

    So, when will you briefly describe how the competition went? Which tasks you were assigned, and any other technical details.

  2. Constantin says:

    You can see the problems, solutions and tests here. Technical stuff was far beneath what we were expecting. We were given a brain-dead “secure” win2000 on which right-click wouldn’t work, win+r wouldn’t work, the only folder we had access to was My Documents… We had limited access to a Gentoo box via putty (but it was crippled, e.g. end and home wouldn’t work, so we couldn’t actually do the editing on it). We had to write our programs in Borland C and then translate them for GNU C. Such a hassle! It doesn’t even know about long long and bool, both of which were needed. I did so bad mostly because I was demoralized by all this (I know, I tend to blame anything but myself). They stated in the rules that they’d give us Linux on each box, but it wasn’t there, and the organizers were even revolted that I asked for it.
    Anyway, I’ve learnt an important lesson: I must get fluent with vim. It is very useable even through putty and it would’ve saved me a lot of time if I knew it. Do you know of any good tutorial for programmers?

  3. Alex says:

    Hmmm.. If you knew vim, I am sure they wouldn’t have it on that machine, they’d probably have emacs (-:

    I am not an advanced vim user and I always use an editor with a GUI if I can. But you can look for ‘vim cheat sheet’ or ‘vim pocket reference’ and get a nicely-formatted list of commands the editor uses – a list that is ready to be printed.

    I know that one’s spirits can be easily dampened by such things, it is a part of life and we have to get used to it. It happens to me from time to time and I still don’t have immunity. I guess there’s a long way until one develops invulnerability… You can try typing ‘iddqd’, but I am not sure it will work (-:

  4. World_in_wireframe says:

    Manele, yeah, I had some bad experiences with them, especially, their representatives, actually a whole bus of them, while I was on my way home (this is a 4 hour journey, lasted as 24 with this music in my ears).
    That’s the main reason I don’t want to say: “sunt Român”, even if it is against historical truth.

    Anyway, congrats about the contest, though you deserved more.

    Good luck at next ones.

    [Comment edited at author’s request. We’d kill for a preview button…]

