Quotes from Hannibal Rising

Yesterday night I finished listening to the audio version of Hannibal Rising, by Thomas Harris. Here is a list of quotes that caught my attention:

  • Police in the Soviet satellite countries were organized around the central Soviet in Moscow, like a wheel with spokes and no rim.
    (4-08 @6:00)
  • They were close and they were far. Like a lamp between two mirrors.
    (5-07 @3:30)
  • Are you looking for sympathy? You’ll find it in the dictionary, between shit and syphilis.
    (5-13 @6:55)
  • [my favorite:]
    Mischa, we take comfort in knowing there is no God. That you are not enslaved in a Heaven, made to kiss God’s ass forever. What you have is better than Paradise. You have blessed oblivion.
    (4-12 @6:42)

4 Responses to Quotes from Hannibal Rising

  1. […] Original post by Constantin […]

  2. Taylor says:

    “Not a nick in the blade, I promise you. The butcher was like butter.”

    “The very scent of her takes away the smell of the camp.” Do you compose verse, Inspector, and keep it under your pillow?

    Hannibal Lecter: Now tell me inspector: you lost family in the war?

    Inspector Popil: Yes.

    Hannibal Lecter: Did you catch who did it?

    Inspector Popil: No.

    Hannibal Lecter: Then we are both suspects. I could say you were fishing with me if you like.

  3. Jordan says:

    “Rudeness is an epidemic”

    “What did I ever do to you?”
    Aside from eating my sister? Nothing.”

  4. Adonia says:

    “I’d yield me to the Devil instantly; did it not happen that myself am he!”
    Von Goethe, Steppenwolf

