My New Tsunami Action 3500

signed-tsunami.jpgI have 2 IDE hard drives and one DVD writer. Since the last upgrade, I often had to shut down the PC and swap the cables, because the new mainboard had only one IDE cable (for two drives). Annoying! Not willing to spend money on a new SATA disk, I went for an alternative solution. I bought an external IDE enclosure for one of the drives. At $23, the Tsunami Action 3500 comes with:

  • Removable Storage support (Linux likes it)
  • IDE hard drive support (doesn’t eat SATA drives)
  • USB 2.0 support (nor do I have FireWire)
  • Aluminium Casing (under heavy use it is slightly above room temperature)
  • Two LEDs, an orange one for power and a blue one for disk activity
  • A bulky power supply. Unfortunately the electricity provided through USB can’t feed a hungry 3.5″ drive :(
  • Portability (although the power supply is really uncomfortable to carry)
  • Only 15 MB/sec of speed, as reported by hdparm -t. (Are more expensive enclosures faster?)

5 Responses to My New Tsunami Action 3500

  1. Alex says:

    The latest desktop I got uses a SATA hard disk, and I just love the way that thin little cable looks inside the case.

    The computer does not look like a mess, and it is easier to play with its components. A SATA hard disk costs as much as an IDE one, the difference can be neglected.

    I know, in your case the problem was to “get rid” of an old unit; but solving it by switching to a solution that uses another power supply is not elegant.

    I have a shortage of sockets, so I always choose devices in a way that offers priority to those that have modest power demands; or at least those that have a built-in power supply (so there’s just a small plug in the socket, rather than a huge black box (as in the case of my D-Link router))

    One of the advantages you got – mobility. One of the drawbacks you’ve mentioned yourself already. The other is that there is no need for mobility if you organize things. For instance, I prefer to transfer everything I need via the Internet (it happens so that wherever I am, there’s a nice connection that allows me to upload stuff to my home server)

    Back to cables. It has been a long time since I opened my case, and I’m not that much into buying new hardware and experimenting with it, no time for that. If it works – fine. But still, if one day I have to monkey with the guts of this metal beast, I’ll deal with a thin cable, rather than that wide thing that cannot be twisted without breaking somebody’s neck (-:

    Only 15 MB/sec of speed, as reported by hdparm -t. (Are more expensive enclosures faster?)

    You got 15 MB/sec? (that is MegaByte, not Megabit)

    The bottleneck is the hard disk itself, since the bandwidth of the USB bus is 400something Mbit/s.

    Was the HDD faster when it was connected directly to the motherboard’s IDE controller? If yes, then “Houston, we have a problem” (-:

  2. Constantin says:

    Yes, that’s 15 MB/sec. With 15 Mbit/sec I’d rather kill myself ;)
    I recall that data transfer was faster before I took the drive out. I suspect the USB to IDE controller / converter / whatever-it-is-called is the bottleneck. I’ll try to benchmark the drive next time I’ll connect it to the mainboard directly.

    it happens so that wherever I am, there’s a nice connection that allows me to upload stuff to my home server

    If it’s not a secret, what is the connection speed at your home server? Not only mine is slow (near dial-up), but also when I’m not home, some member of my family is usually using Windows on the PC…

  3. Alex says:

    I got an optical fiber connection from Starnet; the up/down bandwidth for hosts within Moldova is pretty impressive; in theory I got 50 Mbit/s, but I’ve never seen it in action because all the other points from which I tried to connect to my home computer had ‘thinner pipes’.

    My motto is “my home connection cannot be a bottleneck, by definition” (-:

  4. Constantin says:

    Wow, that’s cool! How come they don’t advertise fiber on their site?

  5. Alex says:

    I doubt it is a marketing stunt of some sort, because it results in money- – for them; it is also possible that they’ve got their infrastructure set up only in the area where I live, while other areas only have ADSL coverage.

