Seven Reasons to Hate School

attn-from-svg.pngBefore discarding this as a stupid rant, read on for the reasons.

  1. Not all teachers are good.
    A good teacher is one that awakes the desire to find out more in his students. Too many teachers are threatening their students with quizzes instead of trying to make the material they teach more interesting.
  2. Not all students are good.
    If you’re better than your peers, then you are constantly bored as the teacher explains stuff you know to those less enlightened. If you’re worse, you feel bad when everyone seems to know stuff you don’t.
  3. We waste our time there.
    The “diversification” schools offer should really be optional. I find that less than 10% of the history / geography / etc. I am forced to learn will actually prove useful to me in the future. Why learn the information by heart if it’s available a few clicks away?
  4. We lose our desire to learn.
    Mankind will exist as long as there is a longing to improve our life. School teaches students that learning is hard, and that it’s all about exams and term papers. The obsession to constantly seek for knowledge was given to us for a reason, but school teaches us to reject it and say “no, thanks”.
  5. School stifles our creativity.
    Einstein said, Imagination is more important than knowledge. Because knowledge itself will solve no real life problems. It is the art of using knowledge in our own advantage that life rewards. But instead of cultivating students’ creative skills, our education system tries to turn us into robots that do their jobs, not more, not less.
  6. The grading system just plain sucks.
    Different people have different ways to learn. Some learn by doing, others learn by seeing others do, yet others learn by reading dull textbooks. Attempting to adjust everyone to a single learning system (record, replay, repeat) is a poor choice, and so is the grading system, because it persuades us to study “just for a good grade”.
  7. School turns us into prisoners of the left brain.
    So we must do all within our power to escape from this monotony and avoid being turned into pieces of soulless meat.

If you have more reasons, and would like to share them, you are more than welcome to do so in comments! I am open to discussion :)

24 Responses to Seven Reasons to Hate School

  1. dansdvds says:

    School is essentially only there to keep children and teenagers off the streets and teach them some discipline into the bargain. Although the discipline part isn’t really in effect in the UK- life as a teacher would be hell here. All that time I spent learning German and Physics equations and now i’m at uni it doesn’t matter squat! Future employers don’t care if I know my algebra. waste of time…

  2. Many students hate (or hated) school. I challenge you to list some reasons why school is beneficial and positive in your life. Here’s a few to think about:
    1. Provides a social environment to learn appropriate social skills.
    2. Teaches a foundation of skills to build upon: reading, critical thinking, logic, math, creativity (music, art, body movement through P.E. and dance).
    3. It provides an opportunity to learn how to cope with authority, get along with others you may or may not like, advocate for yourself, follow directions, and develop impulse control, and delay of gratification.
    4. Some teachers are inspirational and incredible. The ones that aren’t challenge students to advocate for themselves, learn to cope with a boss who is incompetent (real-world challenge).
    5. Not all students are good students. Just like the working world, not all employees are good employees. By being around those higher than you, you are challenged to push harder to match them. And by working with those lower than you, you are challenged to help them or model for them what being a good student is like (you are their challenge to increase their skills).
    6. Having a broad education gives us the foundation to open any doors we want to. It gives us choices for employment and further education. Without it, our doors would close before we knew what they were. If you weren’t taught algebra, you wouldn’t be able to open the door to engineering, teaching math, accounting, business, and so on – things you may not know you will like in the future – especially as a young developing adolescent.
    7. The desire to learn comes from within. Your personal choice on your attitude toward learning has nothing to do with the system and everything to do with you.
    8. School provides at outlet for creativity: Band, Art, Year Book, Video Production, Creative Writing, Debate, Dance, Newspaper, Religion clubs, student leadership.
    9. School sets a standard for bieng able to show what we have learned and perform. In the working professional world, you are required to know what you are talking about and provide insight, facts, and contribute to discussion and meeting through recalling what you know. Tests train your brain to recall information. Papers train your brain to express yourself in the written word. Grades demand accountability for what you are learning. You may learn in a different way, but we are all required to use our knowledge in similar ways.
    10. If young people didn’t have direction, they wouldn’t go anywhere.
    11. What can you come up with?? Show me some of that creativity!! ;)

  3. [Especially] To dansdvds and Angela Yoshiko:
    What if you know certainly know what you’re going to do in the future? And you certainly know, thus, what you NEED and what you DON’T. For example, I do know that I will do only math and maybe Computer Science. Math can powerfully develop your mind. And, accounting that there are plenty undiscovered \ unproved things in math, wouldn’t university [or, “AFTER SCHOOL”] be too late to explore them?
    Constantin [and myself] is not talking about “leaving school” for “streets”. He’s talking about “leaving UNNEEDED subjects” for “USEFUL ones”.
    Schoold doesn’t necessarily give the direction you
    re mentioning in 10. You can yourself choose the direction.

    [Especially] To Exit [but not only]:
    If you define Imagination as the words that follow, that I certainly agree Einstein [and you].
    The most important ability of the brain is to connect things [knowledge] in a logical sequence and to aknowledge similar situations stated in different ways as having the same Essence. Such principles lie at the base of Mathematical Thinking, and, for that matter, of perceiving life!

  4. I don’t think anyone knows for certain what the future holds for them. We may think we know what we want, but when life happens – life changes. Forms of school have existed forever ~ I think it’s possible to see why. Just push yourself.

  5. dansdvds says:

    to be fair certain parts of school have given me an excellent foundation for the field of journalism that i will enter once i finish my university course, its just the amount of irrelevant stuff which i find annoying. i knew that i would never be a physician yet i was made to do it. Whats more is I can’t remember any of it anyway!

    School is important for interaction with other kids though

  6. You’d be surprised how much information you have retained – and it might come in handy the next time you’re at a party and you’re stuck in an awkward conversation with…a physician. ;)

  7. Constantin says:

    Whenever people agree with me, I feel I must be wrong. (O. Wilde) ;)

    to Angela Yoshiko:
    To expose the positive side of the education system wasn’t my goal. And I’m not ashamed to tell you that I put the word “hate” in the title just to gain attention.
    I agree upon the points you’ve listed, with some exceptions:
    1) Only boys study in our school (that doesn’t make your argument invalid, though).
    2) True, but think of all the useless things they stuff us with. Dickens called it “scholastic straw”. Critical thinking? I wish I could see more of that at school.
    6) I’m in the 11th grade (out of 12) (I think the equivalent in English is “high school junior”). I think by this time I know pretty well what I want to do with my life. I want to be a Computer Scientist / Software Engineer. Yet I am forced to study subjects that are almost useless to me (like I said, history, geography, …). I’d like to learn these in a more general, less demanding way, so that I can concentrate on what I will build my future upon.
    Basically one has to:
    (1) be good in all subjects;
    (2) be great in a single subject and so-so in all the others.
    School wants (1), I want (2).
    7) Except that the system constantly tries to convince me that learning is a headache.
    10) I’m not saying we should abandon schools altogether. But a massive reform would be highly beneficial.

    to FreeYourMindER:
    (for the record, we study in the same school)
    You know what you’re talking about. Fortunately for you, our school gives Competitive Math students the chance to “skip” some other subject and do Math instead, but there’s no such thing for those interested in Computer Science (are we too few?)

    to dansdvds:
    > its just the amount of irrelevant stuff which i find annoying.
    Exactly.

    to the world:
    I study Computer Science for Contests (aka Olympiads). At school, I can do nothing to improve my skills in this area. I come home at 15:00 (on average), and I’m dead-tired. And besides doing my homework for the next day, I need to find the time and the will to do programming. School is more of a hindrance than a helpful thing in my goal to become a CS expert.

    Sorry for such a long reply :)

  8. vultoor says:

    :) that list is just a small part>.:)

  9. Alex says:

    I am surprised to see so many comments here. I have to say that Angela did all the dirty work for me and basically I have nothing else to add, I’ll just add my 2 cents and hopefully further fuel this mini flame war.

    We waste our time there. Well, this is not right. Do you think that math is all it takes?

    School makes you omni-developed (as long as you pay attention to all the disciplines). As a university student, it sucked to be aware of the fact that many of my colleagues have no clue how to write a nice sentence without making a couple of mistakes in it.

    I was amazed by their limited abilities in languages, geography, history, and other non-technical fields.

    Knowing all that stuff is what makes you creative.

    I ended up being the tech-guy in non technical groups, and the humanitarian-guy in the technical groups. This allows me to be different and bring fresh ideas into a discussion. If it is a debate about love and feelings – I can bring in a few functions and charts to make things interesting :-) If it is a discussion about numbers and functions, I can generate an example that links that to real-world social interactions, and so on.

    In fact, I became so good at not being just one type of a person, that I don’t really know who I am.

    Hmm… years ago I used to work as a translator and interpreter. Nowadays I do a lot of copywriting and sometimes translations too; but the primary focus is the technical stuff. Now, it may sound weird, but I study in a university of a technical profile, and I’m full of maths and programming and other exact stuff; nobody would think that I used to deal with translations for a living…

    You know, if you only dedicate yourself to math, you’re going to be just a monkey with a keyboard. //imho

    I’m not saying that you do that (in fact, so far I thought you’re omni-developed); my advice is – don’t even think about it.

    History rules, so does geography.. and for Christ’s sake ‘literatura romana’ is also important – I admit it today :-)

  10. Constantin says:

    I wouldn’t dare to attack “literatura romana”!
    And although I am not against being omni-developed, I don’t appreciate the fact that every teacher tries to make me an expert in the field he or she teaches. Yes, I am interested in what happened in Rome / Greece / Japan two thousand years ago, but I don’t want to learn all the picky details. Yet I have to do so, or else I get a bad mark.
    This is not that bad after all, and I know I’ll get over it, but I still think we could save a lot of time and brain cells if we had more choice over the depth of each subject we study.

  11. World_in_wireframe says:

    Well, i see that i’m a little too late in this conversation ;),
    I totaly agree with Constantin, he knows well enough why.
    My working day starts at 15:00 (if I’m lucky) and continues till 21:00 … and after that guess what, homework at turkish, homework at geography, history, and all the other stuff that kill my brain cells. Anyway this is not a complant about school is just an objection. The subjects should be more lose and the desires of individuals more respected, I think.
    I know that I’ll be an CG artist, actually I am one. So what, I’m still efacing the desks of moldo turkish lyceum. Trying to get to a good university, for what, for a good job?! i have one… well I admit that i’m confused, and i’ll still flow with this stream, mayebe one day i’ll evade from it!…
    anyway, respect for Constantin for a great post!
    (can’t wait to do that)

  12. stef2n says:

    That’s a very good list ;) This happens in Romanian education system too. The school fills your mind with too many things that wouldn’t help you soon. It is given a big importance to learn everything, and the performance is left behind. Good students are kept behind because of that.

  13. chef noodles says:

    i wanna be a chef. i am 13. wow? waddaya know? u were wrong 0_0

    I am not changing my mind, so yeah.

  14. chef noodles says:

    and, i really can cook with what ive learned. you just need to know what your going to be, make it happen, and dont learn the rest of this stuff they try to teach you to make u a cubicle robot.

  15. Jim says:

    I almost always hated school but somehow got all the way through college since I was told by parents that I “would empty trash all my life if I did not complete a college degree”. I am now age 50 and have worked at over 100 employers, all crap jobs like driving trucks, landscaping, food service, temp jobs, telemarketing, etc. for $4-9 an hour. Boy have I emptied a lot of trash with my college degree! At least I made up for such problems (I have ADHD I think) and focused on teaching myself money and investments and now have a nice home paid off, no debt, nice marriage and almost can retire. Finding decent, professional level work has been all but impossible.

  16. joe says:

    no mater how hard you try it just gives you a bougus letter

    • Walker says:

      I agree although with some subjects it is pointless to learn because take spanish for example we know all the spanish we need if we need more that’s what spanish to english pocket dictionaries are for and you only get a letter no money this is bougus

  17. joe says:

    you relise were about to go into a huge depression enyways

  18. joe says:

    they should be teaching the bible then we would actually be smart

  19. Kyle says:

    what if you just want to be like a pipefitter or a wealder?

  20. Walker says:

    SOME OF US ARE BULLIED IT MAKES US MISERABLE!!!!!

  21. Nicole says:

    um dansdvds is sooooo wrong (no offence) because i get the part about keeping us off the streets. But how does sound waves, ancient china, square roots, and poems teach us dicipline. if u think about it, school makes us more rebellious because we bottle up anger inside of us (because if u say a damn thing ur suspended)which makes us mad at home and more likely to yell at ur parents and gets u in even more trouble.

  22. ytd says:

    FREEDOM!!

  23. ytd says:

    fight the power

