Linux USB drive formatting frustration

Yeah, I know I’m a Linux fan-boy and everything, but this thing got me really angry today. I needed to format my USB drive / player and didn’t want to resort to Windows for that. So I tried:

exit@Black-Feather:~$ mkfs.vfat -F 32 -v /dev/sda1
mkfs.vfat 2.11 (12 Mar 2005)
/dev/sda1 has 16 heads and 56 sectors per track,
logical sector size is 512,
using 0xf8 media descriptor, with 2046240 sectors;
file system has 2 32-bit FATs and 8 sectors per cluster.
FAT size is 1995 sectors, and provides 255277 clusters.
Volume ID is 459faa8a, no volume label.
exit@Black-Feather:~$ sudo mount -v -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt
mount: /dev/sda1: can't read superblock
exit@Black-Feather:~$

WTF? Google proved of no help. I didn’t want to use fdisk to erase the partition table, as I wasn’t sure whether the player would work afterwards.

After wasting half an hour juggling with man pages and useless forum topics, I gave up and rebooted to Windows. In under a minute the formatting was done. I know there’s probably something very simple I’m missing, but I really hate when such a powerful OS has trouble doing such a simple job of formatting. Grrrr.

Comments are closed.

